Week 10: Workshop and Black Friday: The good, the bad and the ugly

Okay, so I had an amazing start to the week, and then it all went downhill from there.

Monday-Wednesday:

Beruite and Claire’s classes were pretty stellar! I felt quite powerful and amazing. 🙂 Pilates with Nicole on Tuesday was also fantastic. Unfortunately, I was only able to take barre (and even then I was quite sloppy) during Laura’s class, so I can’t say much about it. 😦 I became quite ill on Wednesday morning, which lasted most of the day. I had a stomach bug, and by body was quite achy. I had to sleep, at school, after barre.

Lizzie and Victors classes were great! Lizzie taught an amazing phrase, which is my favorite yet. Victor taught a new styled class, at least it felt that way. Again, sadly, I was not able to take Kristina’s class because of the illness.

Each day after contemporary we had workshop with Robyn Mineko Williams, former HSDC, and one of their amazing choreographers. She was a scholarship student when she was younger, which is quite inspiring. Her workshops were improvisation and repertoire based. The great thing about the improv was finding the movement quality for the rep. Since it is quite challenging. We learned rep from Fluence (her Fall HSDC work)!!!!!! I indulged in it each day. I rested enough on Wednesday to still be able to take it! I learned a whole lot and feel that I grew as a dancer. Here is a video of some of her work, Grey Horses:

Thanksgiving was great! I spent it with scholarship student, Federica. She’s the best ever 🙂

After thanksgiving, the weekend seemed to go downhill from there. BLACK FRIDAY. This day was extremely stressful and the biggest challenge yet,

20131130-152642.jpg

People, there is no need to be mean to anyone, just because you’re shopping. I mean, I can’t count how many times I got boxes thrown at me at register… Oh oh and credit cards tossed at me too, even though I’m not supposed to swipe them. Sigh. Unfortunately, I had an interesting situation:

I went to a thrift store after work on Friday and I was in a lady’s way. The isle was quite small and she said “can you please move?!”. I got very frustrated, and wanted to say something, since I had been yelled at all day by greedy customers, but I just moved and apologized. At that moment I saw her shopping cart was very full, and she had her two children with her.. I realized she was honestly shopping for her family! My god, how awful I felt! I hope she didn’t think I was mean to her after all. She was buying her children stuff they needed and Christmas gifts.. It broke my heart. While I get yelled at by DUMB wealthy and ungrateful LEGO customers, there are people who can’t afford much. I understood she was probably stressed and just wanted to do the best for her family.. ❤ much love for them, I understand their situation.

Saturday and Sunday was just as bad as Friday at lego. A lot of undeserving people getting more than they need. I'm awful, I know, but I wasn't ever wealthy or privileged so I'm quite biased. I'm just a realist. There were a few great customers, thank you for being nice. 6 in total for the entire weekend. 2 per day, average.

Ruben

2 thoughts on “Week 10: Workshop and Black Friday: The good, the bad and the ugly

  1. I cannot remember hearing an honestly good story about “Black Friday” in retail stores (unless you count “I got a really good deal!” stories…). It’s turned into a blight on our culture.

Leave a Reply

