Step 19: Scholarship Program Acceptance!

Hello,

Last week had its ups and downs, which has rolled onto this week. For starters, I was able to take ballet with my remaining class cards last week at LB Ballet (twice) and Alva’s (once). It was nice to come back and take ballet in classes that I used to take, and see the improvement in certain areas.

I decided to give it another shot with my ex.. I know many people have mixed feelings about this, but I did feel as though we needed to try again. This is why I moved back in, and we are working on making it work. It is difficult because I feel as though we have ‘reset’ and started back at square one, even though we had a deep, and involved relationship before I left. Its strange. I wish things would go back to the way they were, but I accept the fact that they might never be that again. All I can do is try my best to be better and hope for the best.

It has been hard without a job. I apply to work everyday and today I got a phone interview, which has led to an in person interview! I’m very excited since I NEED work and money right now. Unfortunately, I have had to give up some of my dance opportunities, and modify others because of all the chaos in my life right now. Even more unfortunate is that there are no companies that are auditioning at the moment, they are all full! 😦 Except one, Diavolo Dance Theater. I plan on going to their audition.

Lastly, and most excitedly, I just heard back and I was accepted into the Scholarship Training Program at the Lou Conte Dance Studio (HSDC)!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
This has been the best news I have had since returning! Because of this new incident, I must ask that people out there be generous enough to donate to my moving back to Chicago and starting the program. The donated money would help me return, find a place to live before I get a job out there, and help with the tuition for the program (there is still a fee).

http://www.gofundme.com/2wwe1w

That is the link to my donation website. I hope that by now everyone out there reading this knows that I am serious about dance and that I have investment a lot of myself into becoming the dancer that I hope to become someday. Any amount donated would be a blessing in my life.

I was so happy that I decided to go out and do yoga outside at a park. It was very nice to just release all the negativity that I had been starting to develop since my return. I know it is hard to overcome obstacles, but now I know that I can do this and will do this. I’ve realized that yoga has become a vital part of my life and that it is much more than just the physical/poses, but more of an internal-spiritual art form that helps to better one.

I told you Chicago, I will be back and better than ever!

Ruben

Ps. If you have any questions about donating, do not hesitate to contact me at RG.MEDINAP@GMAIL.COM

10 thoughts on “Step 19: Scholarship Program Acceptance!

  1. Congratulations to you on the Scholarship acceptance! That’s fantastic. I’ve only been following you on WordPress for a little while but your evidence of how much you love to dance/passion for dance is great. How long would you be accepting donations ? I don’t have anything to give at the moment but I just wanted to ask just in case : )

    • Thank you, you are VERY sweet and kind!! I will be accepting donations until I move, which is sometime in September or October.
      I am greatly appreciative! Do you live in Chicago? I would love to take a dance class with you!

      • No problem at all and I will keep that in mind. If I can’t help, I wish you the best in having the funds to get to Chicago. I do not live in Chicago, nor do I dance. I am just a Balletomane ( for now ). Have a blessed day : )

  2. Oh shit! Congratulations!! I still haven’t stopped by since the last day I taught there. I shall call to see if they have what you left me.

Leave a Reply

