Day 6: First Rest

Holy cow, finally had a break!
I was having so much fun in the studio that yesterday’s rest day felt strange to me and my body. Honestly, with all the walking I did yesterday I doubt I rested at all, but it’s okay, I had fun!

I decided to go explore the city, so when I woke up I did ALL my laundry: dance and not; took my clean dance close and deposited them in my locker….. Yes, it’s difficult for me to stay away from the studio.. I love it so much! Afterwards I went downtown.

I ate at Potbelly’s which makes the BEST sandwiches I’ve ever had! It’s like a subway, but for the same price and higher quality. I made my way to the Art Institute to go see some amazing art but discounted non-Illinois resident, student tickets were $17!!?!?!?!?!!!?!?? I can’t afford that, so I walked around A LOT, until I found the Cultural Center.

I must’ve been really lucky to find it because it had the coolest most influential exhibit ever: The Happy Show by Stefan Sagmeister. Stefan is best known for being the cover artist for bands such as The Rolling Stones, and such. Here is some of his cover band work:

20130714-081145.jpg

The Happy Show was his artistic expression about his 10 year journey to find peace, happiness and self-actualization. It was very profound. It had amazing quotes that were quite touching and true, such as:

Everything I do always comes back to me.

Seek discomfort.

Uselessness is gorgeous.

Every exit is an entrance.

Being not truthful works against me.

And much more, but these were all depicted artistically, and even had some descriptions/background/insight on how it affects happiness. Here are some great pictures of they exhibit:

20130714-082134.jpg
20130714-082139.jpg
20130714-082144.jpg

I highly encourage everyone to go see the exhibit before it leaves. It won’t make you happier but it will open your eyes, mind, and heart.

After I was done perusing the exhibit, I went downstairs to look around when a nice lady told me about Taste of Chicago. She told me to leave the museum and do this event now, then to come back another time to the museum since its free and whatnot.

I’m so glad I did! What is better than indie music and food? NOTHING! Basically, Taste Of is an event like a street fair or carnival, free of entrance, where you buy 12 tickets/strip for $8, with around 40 of Chicago’s finest restaurants and live, free indie music. They had names such as fun. and neon trees, which weren’t free, but the indie rock was.
With 24 tickets I was able to get: mini shredded chicken sandwich, watermelon slice, chorizo empanada, 1/2 slice of deep dish pizza, 1/2 Chicago style hot dog, and a cup of grapefruit! I also got a free dill pickle slice, free tree leaf drink, free fruit punch, and I found out (through blind taste challenge) that I prefer Pepsi over Coke, for free!!!!!!

THIS is a must do event that ends today. If you read this and are in the area, go do!!! They have much more stuff too, like professional chef’s cooking, giving recipes, advice, etc. everyone is nice and will talk to you. Such great atmosphere. Now I’m happy that I tried the Chicago hot dog and deeply dish pizza. Back to my no salt, no sugar diet! :-). [btw, this place had a lot of low-ticket sweets! Oh the pain of not being able to have it!]

Till later today, signing off.

Ruben

Leave a Reply

