Step 12: Makin’ History!

Thankfully, I made it as a finalist at my school’s talent show, which happens this Thursday! I am pleased to announce that I am the only dancer at this talent show.. The rest of the acts are very talented singers, rappers and poets.

I also had an amazing experience this weekend at the ACDFA Baja Region 2013 at El Camino College. This was such an eventful weekend, with 141 dance classes offered over a span of 12 dance sessions; 48 adjudicated pieces in 4 concerts; 1 gala show with 12 of those 48 dances; and not much sleep time!

I am so proud of everyone at my school for participating in every aspect of this conference: research, adjudication, classes and seminars. Going into this weekend I had made a list of just ballet classes to take (to improve my technique), but once I got there I realized that I rather take more different types of classes that I couldn’t on a normal basis.

There were so many fantastic classes led by incredible instructors. I really had a blast. I am especially proud of the CSUDH adjudicated dancers for doing such an amazing job on a wonderful stage, they really do inspire me so much! We couldn’t have done any of this without our amazing Artistic Director, Doris Ressl.

To my amazement, and pleasure, I was selected as one of the Gala performers with “Solo for Shoes” choreographed by the amazing Mrs. Summer Brown! She has really changed my life, dancing and myself as a person. This was a really surreal experience, especially since CSUDH has never been in a Gala, until now! 🙂 And guess what? I held every second, every moment, every particle on that stage and now that experience is mine to keep, forever.

Today I will have the dress rehearsal for the talent show. Winner = cash prize! Cash prize = one step closer to Hubbard Street Summer Intensive. 🙂 Really blessed for everyone and everything in my life!

Leave a Reply

